ZDP-189 Steel: Composition, Hardness and Application Evidence

ZDP-189 is Proterial’s powder-metallurgy stainless blade-steel grade. Its public specification discloses typical carbon and chromium values and separates delivery hardness from hardening hardness. For scissors, the grade name needs a documented maker and model before its material data can support claims about a finished tool, cutting technique or service requirement.

Steel types
Material evidence instrument

Read a steel claim as a four-layer record

A grade can be useful evidence, but a finished shear adds maker execution, geometry, condition, and service history.
Apply to ZDP-189 Steel: Composition, Hardness and Application Evidence
GRADE ≠ EDGE LIFE
Grade identity Source level Finished blade Service history
  1. 01 Identify the grade Use a producer or traceable maker designation.
  2. 02 Name the source layer Separate mill data, maker data, seller copy, and measurement.
  3. 03 Record execution Heat treatment, geometry, assembly, and finished-blade values stay model-specific.
  4. 04 Keep the history Condition, use, care, impacts, and service affect the working edge.

Do not inferOne element, HRC value, country adjective, price tier, or steel name cannot rank sharpness, toughness, corrosion resistance, or service life.

Quick look

Proterial’s ZDP-189 product page supplies a material record. It is useful for identifying the grade and its processing conditions; a finished-scissor specification must come from the maker of that tool. Record the product code, blade construction and document date alongside any material claim.

Manufacturer composition data

The published values are typical carbon 3.00% and chromium 20.00% by mass. Silicon, manganese, nickel, molybdenum, tungsten, vanadium and cobalt are marked undisclosed. The structured composition table on this page preserves that distinction. It does not infer zero values or fill the gaps from a different steel.

An additional chemistry figure in a seller’s listing needs its own source. A historical producer document or a batch certificate may offer different detail, but it should retain its date and material identity. The current public table alone does not establish those extra percentages.

Total chromium content also cannot supply a numerical corrosion ranking for a finished scissor. This entry leaves indicative PREN unavailable because the necessary reported inputs are missing. See the composition guide for the calculation’s scope and why an undisclosed element must not become zero.

Heat Treatment (Proterial specifications)
Reference table: Producer field, Published entry
Producer field Published entry
Annealing 900 °C, slow cooling
Quenching 1,000–1,050 °C, air cooling or oil cooling
Sub-zero treatment Included; temperature and duration not specified on this page
Tempering 100–150 °C, air cooling
Delivery hardness ≤321 HBW
Hardening hardness ≥65 HRC

Source: Proterial ZDP-189, reviewed 30 September 2026. These are producer material entries, not instructions for reheating an assembled scissor. Read the hardening figure with its condition; it is not a finished-model guarantee.

Application wording and scissor evidence

The producer names custom knives and high-quality cutlery tools. Scissors are not explicit in that line. An application list is not an exhaustive compatibility test: its omission cannot prove that the material is unsuitable, that blade contact will cause failure, or that no maker uses it.

Conversely, a generic claim that some premium scissors use ZDP-189 does not identify an actual product. Before adding a model to a comparison, obtain maker documentation connecting the grade to that exact blade or blade layer. No named finished-scissor specification is established by the producer source used here.

Why it matters

Material specifications and tool performance answer different questions. The producer’s hardening figure helps describe the grade’s processing outcome. A test of cutting force, wear, edge damage or service life would need a defined specimen or finished tool and its test conditions. Neither a high hardness value nor a powder route supplies that result by itself.

For a seller’s “ZDP-189 scissor” claim, useful evidence would identify the model, the maker’s material statement, the finished geometry and any hardness specification. Keep each claim attached to its source. A handle inscription or a repeated steel name does not provide the missing processing and performance information.

How it compares

Reference table: Comparison question, Evidence needed
Comparison question Evidence needed
Is this the same material as another powder steel? A producer identity or documented relationship, not a similar process label
Is the finished blade harder? Comparable measurements or model-specific statements with their conditions
Does it resist corrosion better? Testing under comparable exposure and material conditions
Does its edge last longer? Identified tools, cutting task, endpoint and comparator
Is it suited to a particular technique? Exact-model design and maker application guidance

Use the separate SG2, VG-10 and ATS-314 records to compare evidence types. Their grade names and hardness statements should not be substituted for this material’s missing fields.

Trade-offs

The public record establishes a producer identity and selected material data while leaving the finished-scissor questions open. Before purchase, establish the intended application, return terms and available service for the actual tool. Ask the service provider about its geometry and material requirements instead of inferring that only one abrasive can work from the steel name.

Drop damage, chipping and repairability depend on the tool and incident. The producer page does not predict that every ZDP-189 tip will chip rather than bend, or that damage will always be irreparable. An inspected tool needs its own assessment.

Sources

Related: Steel Types • SG2 (SPG2) • VG-10 • Cobalt Alloy

Best powder steel shears →

Published material composition

Proterial ZDP-189. Typical producer figures; other listed elements are explicitly undisclosed. Not a heat or lot analysis. Composition source

Published composition by mass
ElementMass %Value type
C3%typical
Cr20%typical
SiNot disclosedundisclosed
MnNot disclosedundisclosed
NiNot disclosedundisclosed
MoNot disclosedundisclosed
WNot disclosedundisclosed
VNot disclosedundisclosed
CoNot disclosedundisclosed

Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.

Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.

References

Sources

1 source
  1. Proterial / Yasugi Specialty Steel (旧日立金属・安来鋼) (Typical chemistry, delivery and hardening conditions, application wording.)

Source scope and limitations are stated on the page. External links open in new tabs.

Quick clarifications

Frequently Asked Questions

4 answers you can open one at a time
What composition is published for ZDP-189?

Proterial lists typical carbon at 3.00% and chromium at 20.00%. Its other listed element values are undisclosed. Those omissions are not zero values and do not establish the amounts of molybdenum, tungsten or vanadium.

What is the hardness of ZDP-189?

Proterial lists delivery hardness of ≤321 HBW and hardening hardness of ≥65 HRC. These describe different material conditions and scales. Neither is a measured hardness for every finished ZDP-189 scissor.

Does Proterial recommend ZDP-189 for scissors?

Its published application line names custom knives and high-quality cutlery tools. It does not explicitly name scissors. That omission establishes neither a prohibition nor evidence that a particular scissor exists or is suitable; verify the exact maker and model.

Does ZDP-189 require a fixed sharpening interval or abrasive?

The producer page does not specify a finished-scissor service interval or mandate a particular abrasive. Use the exact tool maker’s service requirements and a provider qualified for its geometry and material.

Community notes

Comments & questions

Questions or feedback on this topic? Add a comment below.

Last updated: September 30, 2026 · by