SUS410 Steel

SUS410 is a JIS martensitic stainless designation with a carbon maximum and a chromium range published by steel producers. Those limits identify material chemistry; they do not fix a hair scissor’s hardness, edge shape, service life or intended user. Compare the documented blade condition and finished design before choosing a pair.

Steel types
Material evidence instrument

Read a steel claim as a four-layer record

A grade can be useful evidence, but a finished shear adds maker execution, geometry, condition, and service history.
Apply to SUS410 Steel
GRADE ≠ EDGE LIFE
Grade identity Source level Finished blade Service history
  1. 01 Identify the grade Use a producer or traceable maker designation.
  2. 02 Name the source layer Separate mill data, maker data, seller copy, and measurement.
  3. 03 Record execution Heat treatment, geometry, assembly, and finished-blade values stay model-specific.
  4. 04 Keep the history Condition, use, care, impacts, and service affect the working edge.

Do not inferOne element, HRC value, country adjective, price tier, or steel name cannot rank sharpness, toughness, corrosion resistance, or service life.

SUS410 Steel

Quick look

  • Identity: A standard designation, rather than a scissor brand or quality tier.
  • Composition: JFE lists carbon at no more than 0.15% and chromium at 11.50–13.50%.
  • Hardness: Producer delivery limits and quench examples describe different conditions.
  • Selection: Check the exact blade specification, fit, cutting design and service provision.

Why it matters

The JFE grade page lists SUS410 alongside 1.4006 and 410 in its designation table. These correspondences help locate a material record. They do not establish that every product advertised simply as “410 stainless” was ordered to the same standard, product form or inspection requirements.

The JFE cutlery catalog reports a 43 HRC quench-hardness example for SUS410. Its separate annealed-shipment table gives maxima of 93 HRB and 210 HV. Neither table supports the previous claim that SUS410 scissors universally measure 50–52 HRC. Keep the material condition beside the number, and obtain the maker’s finished-blade specification where available.

The carbon maximum is a limit, not a statement that every heat contains exactly 0.15%. Likewise, a range should not be collapsed into its midpoint and presented as an assay. The structured composition record preserves that distinction; unreported molybdenum, vanadium and nitrogen remain unknown rather than being assigned zero.

Shear pairing & edge compatibility

A buyer choosing training scissors still needs usable fit and dependable service. A low purchase price cannot answer whether the blade profile suits the task, whether the pivot can be maintained or whether replacement parts exist. Assess those details on the model, including when the material is SUS410.

Reference table: Ask for, Why it changes the comparison
Ask for Why it changes the comparison
Exact model and blade-material statement Connects the designation to the cutting blades
Finished hardness with its measurement context Separates the scissor claim from a stock-material table
Edge profile and intended cutting work Makes the technique comparison about the actual design
Service route and written estimate Establishes whether maintenance is available and what it includes

Do not add serrations or prescribe an edge conversion from the steel name alone. Such work changes the tool’s geometry. Ask the maker or an appropriately equipped technician what the existing design permits before authorizing a modification.

Technique map

Choose a pair for fringe work, scissor-over-comb, point cutting or mannequin practice by its dimensions, handedness, blade action and stated purpose. The material record supplies none of those design details. It also does not exclude SUS410 from every precision task or approve any hair scissor for packaging, foils or other non-hair materials.

For a useful comparison, record the same cutting task and the condition of each pair. A particular scissor folding hair is a reason to assess that pair’s adjustment, contact and edge condition. It is insufficient evidence that all scissors sharing its grade need a different alloy.

Real-world stress tests

The producer documents cited here contain material data, not salon drop tests. They cannot establish that a dropped SUS410 blade will bend rather than chip, or that it can safely be straightened by its owner. A drop assessment needs the actual damage and the maker’s service advice.

Treat corrosion claims the same way. A chromium percentage does not specify an approved bleach exposure, disinfectant concentration or contact time for the assembled tool. A scissor includes a pivot and other components whose care requirements must also be considered.

Maintenance notes

Use the model’s cleaning, drying, lubrication and tension instructions. Obtain a compatible product and procedure for disinfection from the relevant maker guidance. The old advice to keep tension uniformly firm, sharpen monthly or rely on stainless chemistry at chemical stations was not supported by these material sources.

When arranging service, describe the symptom, any impact and the last adjustment. Request inspection before assuming the steel has reached the end of its useful life. Whether repair is worthwhile depends on the pair’s condition, the proposed work, the quote and replacement options; it cannot be settled from the designation alone.

Industry snapshot

JFE’s grade page names cutlery, machine parts and valves as applications. This is producer application context, not a survey of salon use. No named hair-scissor model or market share is established by that page. A seller’s broad “stainless” or “surgical steel” label also does not identify SUS410 without a supporting specification.

Trade-offs

Compare the information a seller supplies as carefully as the grade label. A documented model with an appropriate design and accessible service offers a more assessable proposition than an unnamed alloy paired with performance promises. Keep unknown hardness or treatment fields visibly unknown when comparing quotations.

Sources

The selected JFE cutlery catalog supplies the composition limits and separate hardness conditions. The SUS410 page corroborates the chemistry and explains its hardness-test columns. Both were checked on 30 September 2026. These producer records replace the former reliance on broad secondary material guides.

Related: Steel Types • Edge Types • Scissor Maintenance

Context and comparison

SUS410 and SUS420J2 have different published carbon specifications. JFE’s catalog gives different quench-hardness examples for them, but that is not a ranking of every finished tool in every practical dimension. Match product form, processing and the intended task before drawing a performance conclusion. An unspecified “420” listing is not confirmation of either exact JIS grade.

Best shears for beginners →

Published material composition

SUS410 as tabulated in JFE cutlery catalog G1E-005-00. Producer catalog JIS-designation row: ranges and maxima by mass, rather than average or batch analysis. Dashes remain undisclosed. Composition source

Published composition by mass
ElementMass %Value type
C≤0.15%maximum
Si≤1%maximum
Mn≤1%maximum
P≤0.04%maximum
S≤0.03%maximum
Cr11.5–13.5%range
MoNot disclosedundisclosed
VNot disclosedundisclosed
NNot disclosedundisclosed

Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.

Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.

References

Sources

2 sources
  1. JFE Steel: Stainless Steel for Cutlery catalog (manufacturer official)
  2. JFE Steel: SUS410 grade page (manufacturer official)

Source scope and limitations are stated on the page. External links open in new tabs.

Quick clarifications

Frequently Asked Questions

4 answers you can open one at a time
What is SUS410 steel?

SUS410 is a JIS martensitic stainless designation. JFE publishes a carbon maximum of 0.15% and a chromium range of 11.50–13.50%; those chemistry limits do not specify a finished hair scissor’s design or hardness.

Is every SUS410 scissor 50–52 HRC?

No. JFE’s cutlery catalog gives a 43 HRC quench-hardness example and separate annealed delivery limits in HRB and HV. None is a universal finished-scissor value; request the exact model’s specification.

Is SUS410 only suitable for training scissors?

The producer sources do not establish a training-only restriction or a universal salon-performance ranking. Assess the actual pair’s geometry, fit, intended work and service support alongside its documented material condition.

Does SUS410 require monthly sharpening or tolerate bleach?

Neither a fixed service interval nor bleach compatibility follows from the designation. Use the maker’s model-specific care instructions and arrange assessment when cutting behavior or damage indicates a problem.

Community notes

Comments & questions

Questions or feedback on this topic? Add a comment below.

Last updated: September 30, 2026 · by