4034 Stainless
4034 stainless refers to the European material number 1.4034, X46Cr13, a hardenable martensitic chromium steel. Producer records describe composition and processing conditions; they do not identify an unverified scissor or fix its finished hardness. Keep the full designation, supplier and model specification together when comparing tools or arranging service.
Read a steel claim as a four-layer record
A grade can be useful evidence, but a finished shear adds maker execution, geometry, condition, and service history. Apply to 4034 Stainless- 01 Identify the grade Use a producer or traceable maker designation.
- 02 Name the source layer Separate mill data, maker data, seller copy, and measurement.
- 03 Record execution Heat treatment, geometry, assembly, and finished-blade values stay model-specific.
- 04 Keep the history Condition, use, care, impacts, and service affect the working edge.
Do not inferOne element, HRC value, country adjective, price tier, or steel name cannot rank sharpness, toughness, corrosion resistance, or service life.
4034 Stainless
Quick look
- Identity: 1.4034 / X46Cr13, with a complete material number rather than an unexplained four-digit label.
- Chemistry: Rodacciai publishes carbon and chromium ranges, plus separate maximum limits for other listed elements.
- Condition: Annealed stock and a hardened cutting blade require different property records.
- Use: Scissors are a stated application for Böhler N540, but that does not identify the steel in every Solingen-made pair.
Composition breakdown
Rodacciai’s October 2018 datasheet labels its chemistry as cast analysis: carbon 0.43–0.50% and chromium 12.5–14.5% by mass. Its silicon, manganese, phosphorus and sulfur entries are maximum limits, not target amounts. The structured table retains those distinctions. Rodacciai 1.4034 record.
A producer point value answers a different question from a specification range. Böhler lists N540 at 0.46% carbon and 13.00% chromium; Dörrenberg’s R45 sheet gives typical analysis of 0.46% carbon and 13.50% chromium. Both identify 1.4034 / X46Cr13. Those figures fit within the ranges above, but they should not be averaged into a new grade specification. Böhler; Dörrenberg.
For an individual purchase, request the maker’s blade-material statement first. Where material traceability is supplied, retain the producer, designation and relevant certificate together. A grade table describes the selected source; it is not a chemical test of the scissors in your hand. Elements omitted from that table remain undisclosed, rather than becoming zero for a corrosion calculation.
Why it matters
The older 54–56 HRC claim on this page was presented as if it applied to all 4034 scissors. That finished-tool range is not established by the primary records reviewed here. Deutsche Edelstahlwerke’s sheet, revision 4034-1 dated 1 August 2007, instead says hardness should not exceed 55 HRC after its described hardening and 200°C stress-relief treatment. This is dated processing guidance with a stated condition. DEW material sheet.
Dörrenberg separately lists R45 supplied soft annealed at a maximum of 245 HB. That delivery figure describes stock before a maker completes a cutting tool. Keep HB and HRC labeled, and ask for the finished model’s own specification rather than converting stock hardness into a scissor rating. R45 delivery condition.
Shear pairing & edge compatibility
A material name does not choose a 6.0-inch bevel scissor, a serrated barber model or a convex salon design. To compare two pairs, collect enough information to distinguish their geometry and intended work.
| Question for the seller or maker | Useful evidence |
|---|---|
| Does 1.4034 describe the cutting blades? | A statement tied to the exact model and variant |
| What is the edge profile? | Maker description of the bevel, convex form or serration |
| Is a hardness figure supplied? | Scale, finished condition and model scope |
| Who services this design? | Provider details and the work covered by the service |
The material record can support identification after those details are connected. It cannot establish that an unnamed scissor has the same geometry as a pictured product or that a different edge can be ground onto it without changing its behavior.
Technique map
For scissor-over-comb, wet cutting, point work or slide cutting, compare the finished tool against the task you actually perform. Record blade length, tooth or edge configuration, handedness and handle fit before treating a trial as a steel comparison.
A useful trial note names the pair, the task and any adjustment made. If one tool pushes hair, that observation should prompt an assessment of the pair rather than a conclusion about every 1.4034 blade. Chemistry alone cannot isolate the effect of tension, geometry, wear or technique.
Performance evidence
The reviewed producer sheets do not report salon drop tests or a head-to-head hair-cutting trial. The earlier assurance that dropped blades usually roll rather than chip is therefore withdrawn. After an impact, describe what happened and obtain an assessment of the actual damage and alignment before assuming how much steel must be removed.
DEW limits its corrosion discussion to moderately corrosive, chloride-free environments and emphasizes condition and surface finish. This is not approval for a particular disinfectant mixture or immersion routine. A claim that the steel tolerates salon chemicals needs the actual chemical, concentration, exposure and finished surface to be identified. Corrosion scope.
Maintenance notes
Follow the scissor maker’s cleaning and adjustment instructions. As one named example, Jaguar advises removing residue, drying after cleaning and checking action and tension; it recommends professional maintenance when cutting problems persist after appropriate care. These are Jaguar instructions, not a grade-wide servicing protocol. Maker care guidance.
At service intake, provide the model, symptom, previous work and any impact history. Ask whether the original edge and serration, if present, will be preserved. Request an assessment before specifying a polish or an edge conversion solely because a listing says 4034.
Industry snapshot
Böhler explicitly includes scissors among N540 applications. That establishes a producer-recognized use for a named material, without proving which hair-scissor models use it. The European designation also does not establish the country where a particular steel batch or finished pair was made. Check origin claims separately from the alloy name. N540 applications.
Trade-offs
Compare 1.4034 with 1.4037 through their documented material records, then compare the actual scissors through fit, edge design, service and price. Their different carbon ranges provide a real composition distinction. They do not supply a ranking of glide, sharpening intervals or professional suitability.
Sources
Primary records were checked on 30 September 2026. The Rodacciai and DEW publications retain their original revision dates; retrieval today does not make them newly issued specifications. Use the document applicable to the supplied material when placing an order.
Related: Steel Types • Edge Types • Scissor Maintenance
See Also
Published material composition
Rodacciai 1.4034 / X46Cr13. Cast-analysis ranges and maximum limits from the October 2018 producer sheet; unlisted Mo and N remain undisclosed. Not a scissor assay. Composition source
| Element | Mass % | Value type |
|---|---|---|
| C | 0.43–0.5% | range |
| Cr | 12.5–14.5% | range |
| Si | ≤1% | maximum |
| Mn | ≤1% | maximum |
| P | ≤0.04% | maximum |
| S | ≤0.03% | maximum |
| Mo | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
| N | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.
Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.
Sources
5 sources- Rodacciai: X46Cr13 / 1.4034 cast-analysis and product conditions (material supplier)
- Deutsche Edelstahlwerke: 1.4034 / X46Cr13 material sheet (material supplier)
- Böhler: N540 material designation and applications (material supplier)
- Dörrenberg: R45 / 1.4034 / X46Cr13 material sheet (material supplier)
- Jaguar: Care and maintenance guidance (manufacturer technical guidance)
Frequently Asked Questions
4 answers you can open one at a timeWhat does 4034 stainless mean on scissors?
This reference concerns 1.4034 / X46Cr13, a martensitic chromium steel. An unexplained 4034 label still needs confirmation from the scissor maker; the material number alone does not identify a model, origin or finished condition.
Are all 4034 scissors 54–56 HRC?
No universal finished-scissor range is established here. DEW gives conditional processing guidance for 1.4034, while Dörrenberg lists soft-annealed delivery hardness on the HB scale. Request the exact scissor model’s finished-hardness statement.
Is 4034 automatically better for bevel scissors than convex scissors?
The grade alone does not establish edge compatibility. Confirm the finished blade geometry and intended use with the maker, then choose a service provider able to preserve that design.
How often should 4034 scissors be sharpened?
There is no grade-wide interval. Follow the maker’s care guidance and arrange assessment when cutting problems persist after appropriate cleaning and adjustment. Include the model, symptoms and any impact history.
Comments & questions
Questions or feedback on this topic? Add a comment below.