4CR13 Steel

4Cr13 is a legacy martensitic stainless designation paired with 40Cr13 in Baosteel’s grade table. The cited producer chemistry has a higher carbon band than its 20Cr13 and 30Cr13 rows, but that difference does not rank finished scissors. Verify the standard, material condition, edge design and model evidence before drawing performance conclusions.

Steel types
Material evidence instrument

Read a steel claim as a four-layer record

A grade can be useful evidence, but a finished shear adds maker execution, geometry, condition, and service history.
Apply to 4CR13 Steel
GRADE ≠ EDGE LIFE
Grade identity Source level Finished blade Service history
  1. 01 Identify the grade Use a producer or traceable maker designation.
  2. 02 Name the source layer Separate mill data, maker data, seller copy, and measurement.
  3. 03 Record execution Heat treatment, geometry, assembly, and finished-blade values stay model-specific.
  4. 04 Keep the history Condition, use, care, impacts, and service affect the working edge.

Do not inferOne element, HRC value, country adjective, price tier, or steel name cannot rank sharpness, toughness, corrosion resistance, or service life.

4CR13 Steel

Quick look

  • Name: Baosteel explicitly maps 4Cr13 to 40Cr13.
  • Chemistry: The cited plate-and-strip catalog specifies a carbon range rather than exactly 0.4%.
  • Equivalence: Similar-looking European names still need their own specification checked.
  • Hardness: No universal 50–52 HRC finished-scissor range is established by these sources.

Why it matters

The Baosteel table supports the old/new Chinese designation pairing. Its European cross-reference names X39Cr13 / 1.4031. That is not evidence that “DIN X40Cr13” is an exact synonym, or that a tool advertised under a similar name satisfies the same ordering requirements.

Rodacciai’s X39Cr13 / 1.4031 sheet, revised October 2018, keeps the standard editions visible: its reference heading names EN 10088-3:2014, while its comparison table lists X38Cr13 under Germany’s DIN 17440-85. That record does not validate the alleged “DIN X40Cr13” synonym. A precise historical equivalence remains unverified here.

When a seller supplies several alleged equivalents, ask which designation and standard actually governed the blade material. Cross-reference tables help locate candidate records. A complete purchase specification must still account for product form, chemical limits, supplied condition and inspection requirements.

Composition and specification

The indexed Tsingtuo plate-and-strip table reports 0.36–0.45% carbon and 12.00–14.00% chromium for 40Cr13. These are that producer’s catalog ranges, not a measured analysis of a scissor or a verified quotation from the latest national standard. Direct retrieval of the complete PDF was unsuccessful.

The two producer records also have different published ranges:

Reference table: Published field, Tsingtuo 40Cr13 catalog, Rodacciai X39Cr13 sheet
Published field Tsingtuo 40Cr13 catalog Rodacciai X39Cr13 sheet
Carbon 0.36–0.45% 0.36–0.42%
Chromium 12.00–14.00% 12.5–14.5%
Material scope Plate and strip Hot-rolled and bright products

The ranges overlap, but they are not identical. A heat meeting one catalog’s carbon and chromium limits does not automatically meet the other’s; actual compliance also requires the remaining chemistry and ordering requirements. Treat X39Cr13 as a documented cross-reference to investigate, not an unconditional replacement name for 4Cr13. Do not copy its chemistry into the Chinese grade’s specification.

Silicon, manganese and other minor-element limits should be copied only from the exact applicable document. Do not combine limits taken from several product forms or standard editions into an invented specification. Likewise, an unreported alloying element is not evidence of zero content.

Reference table: Claim being compared, Evidence needed, What the grade label cannot supply
Claim being compared Evidence needed What the grade label cannot supply
Material is 4Cr13 / 40Cr13 Exact specification and traceable product statement Proof that a generic stainless listing uses it
A blade has a stated HRC Finished condition, method and sample scope Hardness calculated from carbon percentage
A pair holds its edge longer Matched tools, workload and service endpoint A universal ranking above 3Cr13
A pair suits slide cutting Maker’s intended use, geometry and relevant evaluation Technique suitability from the designation alone

Shear pairing & edge compatibility

Choose geometry and fit from the finished tool’s documentation. The designation does not specify a convex edge, a bevel, serrations or a hollow surface. Confirm that the service provider is equipped for the actual edge before commissioning sharpening or a change in profile.

A buyer comparing two 4Cr13 models may be choosing between different lengths, handles, pivots and blade designs. Record those differences before attributing a preference to steel. The fact that both carry the same label also does not establish identical heat treatment or inspection.

Technique map

Shortlist models by intended work, handedness, reach and control. For a practical comparison, keep the cutting task and tool condition comparable. An observation about one pair can inform the purchase of that pair; it should not become a claim that every 4Cr13 scissor grabs, rolls or cuts in the same way.

If a manufacturer limits the intended materials or techniques, retain that guidance with the model. A steel reference page cannot authorize cutting packaging or other non-hair material with scissors intended for hair.

Performance evidence

No product-specific edge-life, drop-survival or salon corrosion test is supplied by the material records cited here. The old 50–52 HRC reference range also lacks the finished-product evidence needed to describe all 4Cr13 scissors. Leave hardness unspecified unless a reliable source identifies the condition and product to which the number applies.

For a proposed replacement, compare the evidence on both tools. A different carbon band is a material difference; a demonstrated improvement requires a defined result under relevant conditions. Price, country-themed wording and a larger grade number do not fill that evidentiary gap.

Maintenance notes

Use the maker’s cleaning, drying, lubrication and tension guidance. A chromium range cannot confirm that a disinfectant, bleach concentration or exposure time is compatible with the assembled pair. Confirm the complete procedure, including any requirements for other components.

Service decisions should consider the present condition, remaining repair options, the proposed work and its cost. A grade label is insufficient reason to hone frequently, tighten the pivot beyond the maker’s guidance or retire a tool on a fixed calendar.

Industry snapshot

The SAMR bar-standard record and designation-and-composition record identify different documents. Their public registry pages establish titles, editions and status, not the uninspected numerical tables. A producer’s catalog may offer material to particular standards or agreements; ask which one applies to the supplied product.

Trade-offs

A 4Cr13 material claim is one part of a specification. It does not prove manufacturing origin, authenticity, purchase tier or professional suitability. Compare the finished tool’s documented construction and service provision alongside the intended task and total cost.

Sources

The explicit name pairing comes from Baosteel. The carbon and chromium bands come from indexed Tsingtuo catalog text for plate and strip, retrieved from a third-party mirror. The standards registry entries were read directly. Rodacciai’s complete two-page PDF was retrieved, and its first-page naming and cast-analysis tables were inspected visually. It documents a separate European record. The full current standards and finished-scissor performance tests were not available for this review.

Related: Steel Types • Edge Types • Scissor Maintenance

Best budget shears under US$200 →

Published material composition

Tsingtuo 40Cr13 plate and strip; Baosteel maps legacy 4Cr13 to 40Cr13. Producer catalog ranges and maxima from indexed text of the 2024 guide, printed page 14, hosted by a third-party mirror. Full PDF unavailable; not independently verified current GB-standard limits or heat analysis. Slash/absent entries remain undisclosed. Composition source

Published composition by mass
ElementMass %Value type
C0.36–0.45%range
Cr12–14%range
Si≤0.8%maximum
Mn≤0.8%maximum
P≤0.04%maximum
S≤0.03%maximum
Ni≤0.6%maximum
MoNot disclosedundisclosed
CuNot disclosedundisclosed
NNot disclosedundisclosed
VNot disclosedundisclosed
CoNot disclosedundisclosed
WNot disclosedundisclosed

Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.

Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.

References

Sources

5 sources
  1. Baosteel: Stainless Steel Long Products, previous/current grade table (manufacturer specification)
  2. SAMR: GB/T 1220-2007 Stainless steel bars registry record (standards registry)
  3. SAMR: GB/T 20878-2024 Stainless steels, designation and chemical composition registry record (standards registry)
  4. Tsingtuo Group: Plate and Strip Product Guide 2024, mirrored producer catalog (manufacturer specification)
  5. Rodacciai: X39Cr13 / 1.4031 material sheet, revision October 2018 (manufacturer datasheet)

Source scope and limitations are stated on the page. External links open in new tabs.

Quick clarifications

Frequently Asked Questions

4 answers you can open one at a time
Is 4Cr13 also called 40Cr13?

Yes. Baosteel’s table explicitly pairs the previous name 4Cr13 with 40Cr13. This naming relationship does not by itself establish a particular scissor’s chemistry, processing or compliance with a standard.

What composition is reported for 4Cr13?

Tsingtuo’s indexed plate-and-strip catalog table reports 0.36–0.45% carbon and 12.00–14.00% chromium for 40Cr13. These are producer catalog ranges, not a finished-blade assay or a verified transcription of the current national standard.

Does 4Cr13 guarantee better scissors than 3Cr13?

No. A different carbon band does not rank complete tools. Compare heat treatment, geometry, fit, condition, service provision and product-specific performance under the same intended task.

Does the 4Cr13 label establish hardness or chemical compatibility?

No. Hardness needs a source identifying the tested condition and product. Chemical compatibility needs the maker’s approved procedure for the assembled scissors, including concentration and exposure time; neither follows from the grade name alone.

Community notes

Comments & questions

Questions or feedback on this topic? Add a comment below.

Last updated: September 30, 2026 · by