3CR13 Steel
3Cr13 is a legacy martensitic stainless designation that Baosteel pairs with 30Cr13. Its specified carbon band helps distinguish the material from neighboring Cr13 grades, but does not supply a finished scissor’s hardness or cutting performance. Check the producer specification, blade processing and exact model before interpreting equivalent-grade claims or choosing scissors.
Read a steel claim as a four-layer record
A grade can be useful evidence, but a finished shear adds maker execution, geometry, condition, and service history. Apply to 3CR13 Steel- 01 Identify the grade Use a producer or traceable maker designation.
- 02 Name the source layer Separate mill data, maker data, seller copy, and measurement.
- 03 Record execution Heat treatment, geometry, assembly, and finished-blade values stay model-specific.
- 04 Keep the history Condition, use, care, impacts, and service affect the working edge.
Do not inferOne element, HRC value, country adjective, price tier, or steel name cannot rank sharpness, toughness, corrosion resistance, or service life.
3CR13 Steel
Quick look
- Identity: The old/new pairing is explicit in Baosteel’s table, rather than inferred from the digits.
- Chemistry: Tsingtuo reports a defined carbon range for 30Cr13 plate and strip.
- Comparison: A cross-reference to another standard is a starting point for checking specifications.
- Hardness: No universal 52–55 HRC finished-scissor range is verified here.
Why it matters
The Baosteel grade table lists 3Cr13 as a previous designation and 30Cr13 as its corresponding newer name. It also places SUS420J2 and X30Cr13 in cross-reference columns. Those entries do not prove that every product carrying any one of these names meets every other specification.
Compare the actual standard and edition, including chemistry limits, product form and delivery requirements. Baosteel lists 420J2 under corporate standards or agreement and SUS420J2 separately under JIS. It does not identify a “420J2 modified” grade. A seller using that phrase should identify the modification and governing specification; the phrase alone is not a verified synonym for 3Cr13.
Composition and comparison
The indexed Tsingtuo plate-and-strip table gives 0.26–0.35% carbon and 12.00–14.00% chromium for 30Cr13. These values describe that producer catalog row; they are not a finished-blade assay or an independently checked transcription of the current national standard. The direct PDF could not be retrieved in this review.
Rodacciai’s X30Cr13 / 1.4028 sheet, revised October 2018, provides a useful European comparison. Its standard-reference heading names EN 10088-3:2014 for hot-rolled and bright products. Compare its cast-analysis table with Tsingtuo’s plate-and-strip row without merging them:
| Published field | Tsingtuo 30Cr13 catalog | Rodacciai X30Cr13 sheet |
|---|---|---|
| Carbon | 0.26–0.35% | 0.26–0.35% |
| Chromium | 12.00–14.00% | 12.0–14.0% |
| Manganese maximum | 1.00% | 1.50% |
| Material scope | Plate and strip | Hot-rolled and bright products |
The matching carbon and chromium bands do not make the complete specifications identical: the manganese limits differ. This is evidence for checking a proposed substitute against the actual purchase requirements, not a finding that every batch differs or that substitution is always impossible. Neither catalog verifies a finished scissor’s compliance with both specifications.
| Comparison question | Useful evidence | Conclusion to avoid |
|---|---|---|
| Is 3Cr13 another name for 30Cr13? | An explicit previous/current designation table | Inferring the relationship from spelling alone |
| Is a listed “420” the same material? | The exact standard, grade and chemistry limits | Treating a broad number as a complete specification |
| Does 3Cr13 outperform 2Cr13? | Comparable finished tools and a defined task | Converting a carbon difference into a universal ranking |
| Does 4Cr13 last longer? | Product-specific edge-life evidence under matched conditions | Predicting sharpening intervals from the larger number |
The catalog carbon range is more useful than the rounded statement “0.3% carbon” because it preserves the permitted band. It remains separate from the actual chemistry of a delivered heat. If a certificate is available, retain its measured results and traceability rather than replacing them with the catalog midpoint.
Shear pairing & edge compatibility
A blade’s material designation does not specify the cutting edge or handle arrangement. Confirm the model’s edge profile, handedness, dimensions and intended work. A convex or beveled description should come from the tool specification or a qualified inspection, not from the assumption that all 3Cr13 scissors share one geometry.
Service access also belongs in the comparison. Ask whether the provider can maintain the current edge and pivot arrangement, what the inspection includes, and which repairs are feasible for that pair. “Training” or “backup” can describe a user’s chosen role; neither is an intrinsic property of the alloy.
Technique map
For a cutting trial, use scissors in known adjustment and condition and compare the same intended task. Record fit, control and the observed cut on that pair. This distinguishes a useful product observation from a claim about all material sold under the designation.
An edge that grabs during slide cutting needs assessment of the particular tool and whether that technique is intended for it. It does not establish a grade-wide defect, nor justify changing tension or edge geometry without the relevant maker or service guidance.
Performance evidence
The sources here do not establish a finished-scissor HRC range, a monthly sharpening requirement or a guaranteed useful life. A hardness number needs its scale, test condition and sample scope. Annealed stock, a heat-treated test piece and an assembled cutting tool are different subjects; do not transfer a result between them without supporting documentation.
A meaningful performance comparison would also identify the cutting workload and the endpoint for service. Testimonials with unspecified use cannot determine whether a material change, geometry change or simply a newly serviced edge explains the difference.
Maintenance notes
Follow the exact model’s care and adjustment instructions. Do not adopt a blanket “keep tension firm” rule or monthly service schedule from the steel label. When performance changes, describe the symptom and any impact or previous repair to the provider so the actual pair can be assessed.
Chemical compatibility requires the maker’s approved cleaning or disinfection procedure. The catalog chromium percentage does not establish compatibility with a particular concentration, exposure time or assembled-tool component.
Industry snapshot
The GB/T 1220-2007 registry entry concerns stainless-steel bars; GB/T 20878-2024 concerns designation and chemistry. Registry metadata is not the standards’ full technical text. A supplier should identify the applicable document instead of citing “Chinese stainless” as if it were a complete purchase specification.
Trade-offs
Compare documented products by their intended work, blade design, fit, condition, service and price. The country associated with a designation does not identify the manufacturing origin or quality of every tool using it. Keep unverified treatment and performance fields visible as unknowns rather than filling them with a presumed market tier.
Sources
Baosteel supplies the explicit naming crosswalk. Tsingtuo supplies the scoped catalog chemistry through indexed text of a mirrored document. SAMR supplies standards metadata. Rodacciai’s complete two-page PDF was retrieved, and its first-page naming and chemistry tables were inspected visually. It supplies a separately scoped comparison, not replacement chemistry for 3Cr13. None is a finished-scissor test report.
See Also
Best budget shears under US$200 →
Published material composition
Tsingtuo 30Cr13 plate and strip; Baosteel maps legacy 3Cr13 to 30Cr13. Producer catalog ranges and maxima from indexed text of the 2024 guide, printed page 14, hosted by a third-party mirror. Full PDF unavailable; not independently verified current GB-standard limits or heat analysis. Slash/absent entries remain undisclosed. Composition source
| Element | Mass % | Value type |
|---|---|---|
| C | 0.26–0.35% | range |
| Cr | 12–14% | range |
| Si | ≤1% | maximum |
| Mn | ≤1% | maximum |
| P | ≤0.04% | maximum |
| S | ≤0.03% | maximum |
| Ni | ≤0.6% | maximum |
| Mo | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
| Cu | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
| N | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
| V | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
| Co | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
| W | Not disclosed | undisclosed |
Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.
Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.
Sources
5 sources- Baosteel: Stainless Steel Long Products, previous/current grade table (manufacturer specification)
- SAMR: GB/T 1220-2007 Stainless steel bars registry record (standards registry)
- SAMR: GB/T 20878-2024 Stainless steels, designation and chemical composition registry record (standards registry)
- Tsingtuo Group: Plate and Strip Product Guide 2024, mirrored producer catalog (manufacturer specification)
- Rodacciai: X30Cr13 / 1.4028 material sheet, revision October 2018 (manufacturer datasheet)
Frequently Asked Questions
4 answers you can open one at a timeAre 3Cr13 and 30Cr13 related names?
Baosteel explicitly lists 3Cr13 as the previous designation corresponding to 30Cr13. Confirm the actual standard, edition and blade-material statement for the product being compared.
Is 3Cr13 identical to SUS420J2 or “420J2 modified”?
Baosteel places SUS420J2 in a cross-reference column beside 30Cr13 / 3Cr13. That is not proof of compliance with every requirement of both specifications. “420J2 modified” also leaves the modification undefined; request the exact grade and governing specification.
What carbon range is published for 3Cr13?
Tsingtuo’s indexed plate-and-strip catalog table gives 0.26–0.35% carbon for 30Cr13, the name paired with 3Cr13 by Baosteel. Preserve the range rather than treating 0.3% as a measured result; the catalog is not an assay of a finished blade.
How hard are 3Cr13 scissors and how often do they need sharpening?
The sources here establish neither a universal finished-scissor HRC range nor a service interval. Use the exact maker’s specification and care guidance, then assess the tool’s cutting performance, adjustment, condition and service needs.
Comments & questions
Questions or feedback on this topic? Add a comment below.