Side by side

440C vs SUS420J2: Composition, Condition and Scissor Evidence

Answer

What's the difference between 440C and SUS420J2 scissor steel?

The reviewed Carpenter 440C table has a higher carbon range than JFE’s SUS420J2 table. Their published hardness examples describe different material and processing contexts. Those records do not assign every SUS420J2 scissor to training use or guarantee longer edge life from every 440C model.

Use the source-scoped chemistry and hardness below to compare materials. For a purchase, obtain the actual model’s geometry, finished specification, intended task and service instructions. Stainless classification does not establish compatibility with salon chemicals or a fixed sharpening schedule.

Updated Oct 2026 · 4 sources

Material fields shown side by side. How a finished pair cuts and how long it stays sharp depend on the exact alloy, heat treatment and grind.
Attribute 440C Stainless Steel Multiple producers; verify supplied material origin SUS420J2 Stainless Steel Japan / Global
Material hardness
≈60 HRC; Carpenter Technology; heat-treated CarTech 440C under the producer datasheet conditions. Mill source
57 HRC; JFE Steel; producer example of hardness after quenching; not a finished-scissor specification or guaranteed grade-wide range. Mill source
Finished-scissor examples
No model figure cited.
No model figure cited.
Published composition

Carpenter CarTech 440C (UNS S44004). Producer type analysis, edition 1 June 1987, still hosted by Carpenter. Preserve printed ranges and maxima; the document disclaimer describes typical or average data, not a shipment guarantee. Composition source

Published composition by mass
ElementMass %Value type
C0.95–1.2%range
Mn≤1%maximum
P≤0.04%maximum
S≤0.03%maximum
Si≤1%maximum
Cr16–18%range
Mo≤0.75%maximum
FeBalancebalance

Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.

Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.

SUS420J2 as tabulated in JFE cutlery catalog G1E-005-00. Producer catalog JIS-designation row: ranges and maxima by mass, rather than average or batch analysis. Dashes remain undisclosed. Sulfur maximum 0.030% follows the PDF; JFE’s HTML page instead lists 0.015%, so confirm the applicable supply specification. Composition source

Published composition by mass
ElementMass %Value type
C0.26–0.4%range
Si≤1%maximum
Mn≤1%maximum
P≤0.04%maximum
S≤0.03%maximum
Cr12–14%range
MoNot disclosedundisclosed
VNot disclosedundisclosed
NNot disclosedundisclosed

Elements absent from this table are unreported in this source, not zero. These material figures do not identify the chemistry of an individual finished scissor.

Indicative PREN: unavailable. No calculation: Mo, N lacks a published point value or two-sided range. Missing values and one-sided limits are not zero. Calculation and limits.

Steel familyMartensitic stainlessMartensitic stainless
Product linksFull entry Full entry

When each one makes sense

Ichiro K10 Hair Cutting Scissors product photograph
Ichiro Ichiro K10 Hair Cutting ScissorsIchiro K10 catalog image; confirm the exact regional model specification and material claim.Image source: Scissor Hub Australia
TRI Essential 515 Offset Cutting Scissors product photograph
TRI TRI Essential 515 Offset Cutting ScissorsTRI Essential 515 Offset catalog image; its material remains unconfirmed and the photograph does not establish a grade.Image source: yoiscissors.co.uk

Start with the intended task and the finished tool. A student, experienced stylist or buyer of a spare pair still needs appropriate geometry, fit and service support. The grade label alone does not make SUS420J2 a training-only material, establish a low price, or make a 440C pair an automatic upgrade.

Chemistry and condition belong together

Carpenter’s CarTech 440C table lists carbon at 0.95–1.20% and chromium at 16.00–18.00%. The selected JFE cutlery catalog gives SUS420J2 carbon at 0.26–0.40% and chromium at 12.00–14.00%. Those source-specific ranges are useful differences; they do not measure a finished scissor’s cutting life.

JFE’s PDF and HTML differ on the sulfur limit. The shared SUS420J2 record deliberately transcribes the selected PDF row and identifies that basis. The full SUS420J2 reference explains the disagreement. Combining limits from different documents would obscure which specification was actually used.

Published statement Keep this context
Carpenter: about 60 HRC Heat-treated CarTech 440C under its datasheet conditions
JFE: 57 HRC for SUS420J2 Catalog example after quenching, not a universal finished-model value
Seller’s hardness for a named pair Maker/model, scale, blade component and source needed

The Carpenter document is dated 1 June 1987 and qualifies its figures as typical or average. JFE separately reports shipment properties and quench examples. Do not convert or merge those different states into a single universal scissor hardness range.

Care requires the actual product

Neither selected material source establishes that an assembled pair is safe for an unspecified chemical-station process. Product condition, surface treatment and the maker’s instructions matter. Ask for the cleaning, drying, lubrication and adjustment guidance for the exact scissors and the intended workplace process.

The retained product images are catalog illustrations. The TRI Essential 515 material remains unconfirmed after an unavailable exact seller listing; its photograph does not prove a JIS designation, chemical analysis or hardness. The retained image is an identification lead, not a verified example of either comparison grade. The 440C reference explains the same boundary for that broader designation.

From a grade comparison to a model decision

Use the material table to identify which claim belongs to which document. Then compare the exact finished tools: intended use, handedness, actual dimensions, edge form, adjustment, care instructions, service route and full purchase quote. A grade name does not establish comfort, control, edge life, price tier or a sharpening interval.

If two sellers quote hardness, retain the model, blade component, scale and source with each figure. A statement about quenched steel stock and a specification for assembled scissors answer different questions. Where a field is absent, ask for evidence instead of borrowing a number from a neighboring grade or another model.

For a practical comparison, record the same task and conditions for each pair and distinguish your observation from a material-wide claim. A result with one tool is useful for that decision; it does not establish how every product with the same alloy label will behave.

Sources

  1. Carpenter Technology: CarTech 440C Stainless datasheet (manufacturer datasheet)
  2. JFE Steel: Stainless Steel for Cutlery catalog (manufacturer official)
  3. JFE Steel: SUS410 grade page (manufacturer official)
  4. Yoi TRI collection: model identity leads (retailer listing)

Source scope and limitations are stated on the page. External links open in new tabs.

Continue comparing